Polska Rada Chrześcijan i Żydów The Polish Council of Christians and Jews



Co-chairs: Stanisław Krajewski and Zbigniew Nosowski www.prchiz.pl

The Polish Council of Christians and Jews is honored to invite you to participate in the ceremony of the presentation of the title

Figure of Reconciliation

for the year 2017

to Rabbi Professor Walter Homolka.

The ceremony will take place on Sunday, **June 10, 2018**, at **6 pm** in **Warsaw**, in the St. Andrew Ap. and St. Albert Church, at Plac Teatralny.

Walter Homolka, born in 1964, is a Rabbi and professor of modern Jewish philosophy of religion, as well as interreligious dialogue at Potsdam University. Since 2002 he has been the rector of Abraham Geiger Kolleg in Potsdam, where rabbis are trained for the first time in Germany since the Shoah. He also serves as deputy president of the European Union of Progressive Judaism. Author of many books, including Jesus von Nazareth im Spiegel jüdischer Forschung, Jewish Jesus Research and Its Challenge to Christology Today, Jüdische Identität in der modernen Welt.

For many years Rabbi Homolka has maintained intensive contacts with Poland, Polish academic institutions and Polish Jewish communities. He initiated Polish-German projects, a joint work with institutes of Jewish Studies of the universities in Wrocław and Kraków. He has also been involved in the cooperation of Jewish Theology Institute with the Department of Theology of the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan. The Polish translation of his book on Jesus of Nazareth will soon be published.

*

The honorary title Figure of Reconciliation is presented by the Polish Council of Christians and Jews to individuals from abroad who have significantly contributed to Christian-Jewish dialogue and better mutual understanding of Christians and Jews, especially in Poland. The recent previous recipients were as follows: Professor Andrea Riccardi from Rome (2016), Rabbi Abraham Skorka from Buenos Aires (2015), Sister Mary O'Sullivan, RSM (2014), Rabbi Boaz Pash from Jerusalem (2013), Superintendent Friedrich Magirius from Leipzig (2012), Professor Joseph Weiler from New York (2011), Fr. Professor Tomas Halik from Prague (2010), Rabbi Alon Goshen-Gottstein from Jerusalem (2009). The earlier recipients, since 1992, were: Prof. Stephan Schreiner (Germany), Rabbi Prof. Byron Sherwin (USA), Sir Sigmund Sternberg (England), Fr. Prof. John Pawlikowski (USA), Rabbi James Rudin (USA), Sister Dominika Zaleska (Szwajcaria), Tova Ben Tzvi (Israel), Sister Marie Thérèse Huget (France), Rabbi Michael Schudrich (USA and Poland), Fr. Manfred Deselaers (Germany and Poland), Halina Birenbaum (Israel), Jan Nowak-Jezioranski (USA and Poland), Jerzy Kluger (Italy), Fr. Prof. Hanspeter Heinz (Germany), Rabbi Prof. Michael Signer (USA), Sister Anne Denise Rinckwald (France), Rabbi Irving Greenberg (USA).